2015 Iowa State Fair Egg Decorating Contest Winners


The Iowa Egg Council held its 18th Annual Egg Decorating Contest on Thursday, August 13, at the Iowa State Fair, in the Agriculture Building. The entries were exquisite, which made judging the decorated eggs very difficult! The TOP 3 winners were: 1. Marietta Wilson, Dallas Center 2. Mary Pruismann, Blairsburg 3. Pat Byer, Marshalltown.

The panel of judges,  included Bill Northey, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, Nathan Stanton, Iowa Poultry Association Board of Directors and Michelle Lamb, Painting Art Director, Sticks Objects of Art and Furniture.  The decorated eggs were judged equally on the following criteria: Design, Artistic Merit, Creativity, Technical Merit and Effective Use of the Egg.

This year the prizes included a $500 first place prize, a $400 second place prize, and a third place $300 prize. The winning eggs will make their way around the great state of Iowa in a traveling egg display. The hand-decorated eggs will be showcased at local libraries across the state.

– See more at: http://iowaegg.org/blog/#sthash.3QChNQPJ.dpuf